Dream Picks for the Holidays

December 15, 2009 at 9:48 pm 1 comment

I asked our staff if they could select any wine in the shop to drink for the holidays which would it be?  The only criteria was to dream big!  Here’s what’s on our Christmas lists…

Sky: Right now I’m all about the pure enjoyment. It’s cold out there, so I’m into big, rich fruit-bombs with no apologies. Something to sip that I don’t have to plan a meal around, like a bottle of Two Hands 2005 Bad Impersonator Shiraz from Barossa Valley, Australia ($68).


Ross: My entire family gathers every Christmas at my grandparents house for a huge Italian feast. Everybody contributes traditional favorites, mine being fried risotto balls (arancinis). My dream pick would be Bricco Francesco 2000 Barolo Rocche Dell’Annunziata ($62), it would be a wine worthy of all the good food on the table.

Erin:  I’m spending New Year’s in Vegas, yeah, Vegas baby! My pick would have to be Villmart NV Grand Cellier Brut Premier Cru  (SALE $76.99), I haven’t had the pleasure of tasting this yet, but this small grower-estate Champagne would be a memorable way to ring in 2010.

Julie: I’ll go with the O’Shaughnessy 2005 Cabernet Sauvignon from Napa ($85)! We talked it up for the Windermere fundraiser (where it raised over $500 on a wine raffle) and it got great reviews (93 points) in the Tasting Circle December 2008 Tasting … but I’ve never gotten to try it. Must be a jewel, especially with beef tenderloin on Christmas day (our tradition)!

Jens: If I could have any bottle in the shop as a holiday gift, I’d pick the Domaine de Marcoux 2007 Chateauneuf-du-Pape. I tried an older vintage several years ago in San Francisco at a big regional tasting. It was fantastic and 2007 should be even better!  Second pick … Sparkman 2006 Kingpin
Cabernet Sauvignon
. Third … Achaval 2007 Quimera. Happy Holidays!

Tracey:
  My fiancé Sam and I celebrate with his parents on their farm near Bellingham and we start our Christmas morning off with Champagne. It’s a tradition that I love and look forward to every year. This year it would be awesome if that special Champagne were Gaston Chiquet “Tradition” 1er Cru (SALE $51.99).

Gina: Just one?? We have beef wellington every year for Christmas dinner, and I can’t imagine drinking it with anything other than a beautiful French red, perhaps a bottle of say…Chateau Gloria 2006 Saint-Julien Bordeaux ($60) It’s dark, plummy with cassis flavors and a beautiful silky finish. Santa are you reading this?

Cheers from all of us at Portalis! We wish everyone a wonderful and happy holiday! ~ Gina

Entry filed under: Australia, Cabernet Sauvignon, France, Italy, Other Red Varietals, Sparkling Wines, Syrah. Tags: , .

Holiday Suggestion: Spanish Sherry A (very funny) interlude at Costco

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Nicholas  |  December 19, 2009 at 2:48 am

    Nice blog entry today. I’ll come and say hi soon! Nicholas from vera’s

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

